Kosrae, Micronesia: Island of the sleeping lady

Standard

 

2013_Feb2_Kosrae069

By Shane Gross

I have to be honest here – I had never heard of Kosrae (pronounced Kosh-rye), a small island in the Federated States of Micronesia, before winning a trip to the beautiful

island. I grew up in Canada and now live in the Bahamas, far from this admittedly non-tourist island. When I heard the news that I had placed in an underwater photo competition and my prize was a week in Kosrae I immediately Googled the destination. I actually didn’t find very much and this excited me all the more. Could this be a virtually undiscovered diving paradise in the middle of the Pacific Ocean?

 

Read more here

Leave a Reply

