Weekly Photo Challenge: Unexpected

Standard

Photography is always something that I have been passionate about. I was seven when my Great Auntie first introduced me to it using a Box Brownie camera (which I still have). Since then I have amassed quite a collection of both cameras and images, but I have never dedicated as much time to it as I would like. When I came across the weekly photo challenges I decided to sign up and give it a go. I have tried daily photo challenges in the past – they started out great for a while but life got in the way as it inevitably does. I’m hoping a weekly challenge might be more achievable … lets see shall we?

The Challenge

Each week we are given a different theme and need to post an image that fits that theme. This week the image needs to be ‘Unexpected’:

 

Unexpected. The world is an interesting place: we stumble upon unexpected things each day, like signs that are unintentionally amusing, bizarre sculptures, or even strange evidence of a miniature world on the side of a building

 

Unexpected

I spend a fair bit of time at the beach. It’s my place to reconnect, to think, to find solitude and  to let my son be free and run wild.  The beach and the ocean are places that my son and I can really connect – we are both water babies and love the feel of the wind on our faces and sand between our toes. If we are having a cranky day we head to the beach regardless of the weather and everything seems to have been cleansed away when the time comes to head home. It’s at times like these I realise how lucky we are to be living in Australia and to have access to such pristine beaches.

This one particular day we had just popped down for an hour or so.  I usually head to less crowded beaches but today we found ourselves on Main Beach in town. I’ve been there thousands of times, seen thousands of different cloud formations but never anything quite like this. Initially I thought my polarised sunglasses were playing tricks with my eyes, but even when I removed them and looked to the skies it was still there: a rainbow cloud. No, not a rainbow in the sky,  it didn’t extend out either side of the cloud, it was simply a rainbow inside the cloud. And what a cloud. Wispy flames licked the sky, the colourful interior like hot coals and all taking place above the iconic Byron Bay lighthouse. It was quite impressive and very ‘unexpected‘.

 

rainbow cloud web

 

rainbow cloud 3

 

I have yet to look this up to see why this occurs. If you have any ideas I would love to hear from you in the comments below. Have you ever seen anything like this before?

 

 

5 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Unexpected

Leave a Reply

